Breaking into song – Favourite things gardeners’ version

Weather forecast: 10° for the next 5 days, rain a lot of the time, due to perpetual rain there is now powdery mildew on the roses and the snapdragons, and the ants are farming aphids on the chilis. As the Chinese were wont to say: same same but different so what else can I do but break into defiant song?

Favourite things gardeners’ version

Raindrops on roses and wind in the willows
Bright copper beetles and quick silver minnows
Lone forest clearings with fairy rings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored peonies and crisp rose petals
Sunbeams on water and moonlight on metal
Wild bees that fly with musical wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Eurasian jays in flight with blue flashes
Magpies and blackbirds with feathers like ashes
Silver white winters and early hot springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the rain falls
When the cold hits
When my plants are sad
I  try to remember my favorite things
But still find I feel quite bad

Adapted from Sound of Music Favourite things lyrics

Please share your thoughts!

