Touching a Life

The sentiment really resonates with me -probably with most of us – if everyone who reads this decides to perform a simple act of kindness for another for no other reason than because they can, wouldn’t that be lovely, and the joy in it comes back a thousandfold. I was at a checkout counter a couple of days ago when a little old lady bent almost double pushing a walker stood in line behind me, I asked her to go on ahead. As she shuffled past she wistfully eyed the orchid in my hand and told me how much she loved them, and asked how much they cost. She was carrying a pair of discounted pajamas, she counted out her change painfully slowly and her trolley had a name tag on it, and I suddenly pictured a little old lady from the old people’s house around the corner, who maybe has no family or who rarely is visited and who hasn’t much money. And I had this strong impulse to do something to brighten her day, although I was a bit fearful it wasn’t an appropriate thing to do. But the impulse was strong, so on a whim I ran back into the shop found another lovely orchid sped through check out and presented the lady with a dwarf orchid full of tiny neon pink flowers. She was shyly, surprised, and said ” oh no you bought them for yourself and I said NO, I bought these for you! She was moved and answered “well this isn’t something you’d expect would happen to you” – her joy made me really happy, and watching her very carefully wrap the orchid lovingly in a bag before putting it in her trolley has stayed with me for days later. In fact I am tempted to pop by to visit her the next time I walk past the old people’s home. There is always a risk in wearing your heart on your sleeve and you sometimes run the risk of rejection, but being able to share a simple joy with another human being, for the sole reason that you can, is worth the risk of sometimes running into a naysayer.

The Thankful Heart

“The life I touch for good or ill will touch another life, and in turn another,until who knows where the trembling stops or in what far place the touch will be felt.”
— Frederick Buechner (American writer and theologian)

Hello all–   I love this hopeful idea–an encouragement to keep me caring for people.  I just thought you’d like it too.

View original post

2 thoughts on “Touching a Life

  1. Thank you very much, reading the quote on your post made me want to share the story, we often despair at the state of the world and feel helpless to change so much in it, but many small acts of kindness also have a big impact I am sure so together we could all make a difference! Thank you for posting inspirational quotes on your website, I love finding them.

Please share your thoughts!

