Apulia-style octopus and potato salad

Octopus and potato salad apulia styleThere is something immensely satisfying in going on holiday, sitting outside watching the chilis grow and being called in to to eat sumptuous simple meals, which you can then photograph and report back on……So here is another simple dish from Apulia – potato salad with octopus.  Boil the water, add frozen octopus in pieces and potatoes chopped into pieces, duration of cooking until tender is approx equal for both. The octopus is bought fresh and frozen pre-cooking because apparently the freezing process helps tenderize it. In a clay pot, traditional this, boil octopus and potatoes on stove until tender, drain and leave to cool. When cool season with white wine vinegar, olive oil (around 1 part vinegar to 3 parts olive oil), chopped parsley, chopped capers and if you like chopped basil, basil is not mandatory. Usually no need to add salt. Put in the fridge and let the flavours develop for a couple of hours. Ideally I’m told it’s the first thing you prepare in the morning when you get up so that you can serve it at lunchtime – this is for those of you who get up at 5am…. and don’t mind preparing fish first thing. Not for me therefore. Squid can be prepared the same way.

4 thoughts on “Apulia-style octopus and potato salad

  1. Preparing fish at 5 am, yikes! Octopus, yikes! Just kidding, I’ve had octopus before, but probably wasn’t prepared well by the cook, so haven’t really been a fan. Squid, on the other hand, especially fried, is a fave. I know, I know .. I don’t eat it that often, I promise. 🙂

    • you make me laugh – fish at 5am – yikes – I couldn’t agree more – but then I am not a Southern Italian nonna 🙂 – octopus that has not been cooked well is a rubber tragedy waiting to challenge your jaw, not fun I agree. I was never a fan of octopus until I had it in Galicia in Spain – baked in the oven with liberal lacings of olive oil, atop sliced potatoes, meltingly tender and sprinkled with sweet paprika yum. Done well it’s a dream, done badly, oh dear. Either way, octopus doesn’t have the universal appeal of your cute and perfect pineapple cupcakes…And who doesn’t love fried squid – I love fried squid – would eat more of it, but we are kind of landlocked here….I see you haven’t as is your wont “healthified” that recipe yet into baked squid yet 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

