Pineapple sage and Chocolate habaneros, Bolivian Rainbow, Jalapenos, assorted Appulian chilis – the joy of plants in November

P1020612I planted lots of chilis, not sure what started me on the chili obsession, but I now have about 10 different varieties. They were labelled in their seed trays, but as they went into bigger containers, I figured why bother labeling them? It will be easy to identify them once they bear fruit, little did I know that in the first year apart from the Bolivian rainbow chili, there would not be any fruit. So this year I awaited the flowers and chilis with the excitement of a child at Christmas waiting to see what the present wrappers are hiding. The chocolate Habanero is easy to identify. The Tepin is too now that it has started producing chilis. The variety of chili plants, the difference in leaf shape, growth pattern, size and of course chili pepper is amazing.

I moved them indoors last week when the temperatures hit 0°C, over the past 3 years I have grown from seed: chocolate habs, bolivian rainbow, tepin, a red chili ( it might be a chocolate jalapeno, however I have just harvested it while it was still red) and acquired a number of plants from Italy, one with beautiful flowers, like tiny narcissi, and one that I haven’t seen flower yet but that apparently blossoms like a rose. I cannot wait to see them next year. Most people grow chilis as annuals. However, it takes a while to establish the plants if you are growing them in cold climates, even if like me you start growing from seed in February on heating mats, by the time they are established and blossoming around August/September the cold weather is just around the corner. Also man chilis don’t produce until their second year. In order to maximize my harvest,  I have decided to grow my plants as perennials. keep my plants as perennials. The Tepins still weren’t happy, they produced flowers in October, and the first chilis in November, and now they are inside I don’t expect to harvest chilis this year. It may be that they need a better climate and so I might just transplant them to the South of Italy where they should do well.

IMG_0659

CHOCOLATE HABANERO PLANT (Origin: Jamaica) 2 year old: Yield about 12 chilis, The chilis have a lovely flowery scent and flavour, and probably because they were grown in Europe and didn’t get a lot of heat and sun the hotness of the chili is at around 6-7 (on a scale where 10 is unbearable and 1 is mild). Grown elsewhere the black hab is one of  the hottest you can encounter.

P1020589

Below BOLIVIAN RAINBOW CHILI AND CHILI HARVEST, 2 year old plants.

P1020584 P1020585 P1020596

The Bolivian rainbow chilis are beautiful – the flowers are a pretty purple and very plentiful. The plants flower all year round.  The fruits start out  purple, then go through a pale yellow, pale orange, darker orange and finally deep red. Today was harvest day, the plants were covered in red chilis highligted against green foliage very seasonal! The plants are easy to look after, pretty and the fruits are edible, plentiful and hot! I recommend you get some!

 

P1020588 Not sure what this one on the left is. I planted black Hungarians, and chocolate jalapenos but the fruit looks wrong. No matter, at some point I will find out!

Today  I also  prepped my balcony for winter, swept, cut back, tidied things up, put small wooden slats below the pots, wrapped the rose containers in bubble wrap and the roses in their winter cloaks, put pots in the cellar. While I have already purchased a Poinsettia which adds a burst of colour to the indoors some plants are still flowering happily on the balcony: the begonia plants are still going strong and the pineapple sage has multiple beautiful red flowers growing on a single stem, (which surprised me until I read on wikipedia): “Short-day plants flower when the day lengths are less than their critical photoperiod. In general, short-day (i.e. long-night) plants flower as days grow shorter (and nights grow longer) after 21 June in the northern hemisphere, which is during summer or fall. They cannot flower under long days or if a pulse of artificial light is shone on the plant for several minutes during the middle of the night; they require a consolidated period of darkness before floral development can begin. Natural nighttime light, such as moonlight or lightning, is not of sufficient brightness or duration to interrupt flowering”   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Short-day_plant 

12 thoughts on “Pineapple sage and Chocolate habaneros, Bolivian Rainbow, Jalapenos, assorted Appulian chilis – the joy of plants in November

  1. They look very pretty, polianthus! Make me wish it’s summer all over again and I can plant chilis. I didn’t bring any indoors this year. Last year I brought a couple in but they soon became magnets for gnats. And my family dislikes hot food. I’m the only one that appreciates the chilis. I really should train their palates to mimic mine, since I’m the cook!

    • Ah the summer……… think the plants are pretty enough to warrant having them around even if you don’t want to eat them. Mostly Bolivian Rainbow are kept as decorations anyway. Although I’m not a fan of plants in the house, too much soil everywhere and fungus gnats, same thing that happened to you. The gnats subsequently chewed the roots of the Basil twig that after I brought it back from Egypt grew roots – I treated all plants with liberal dose of nematodes and that was the end of the fungus gnats. I think I have mentioned I am a big nematode fan! I still have some in my fridge. Use by date was July but am sure that some few will have survived enough to be useful in dosing the chilis that are going in the basement. Jalapenos are not hot, great stuffed and fried, your family should like them? And you are nimbled fingered enough to try stuffing them.

Please share your thoughts!

