Yummy “canadian-asian” fusion brussel sprout slaw: raw shredded sprouts with a maple syrup, japanese rice vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil and fresh lemon dressing

First things first – IGNORE THE PHOTO OF THE SALAD BELOW – it doesn’t taste like it looks, it tastes so much better. But brussel sprout food photography below is not my forte.

Ok I know – lots of people despise the humble brussel sprout. Instead of revering them as the tiny, perfect vitamin baubles they are, admiring their beautiful shade of green, with blueish tinges, and at how the delicate leaves hug each other tightly, these people, and there are many of them,  cannot get past the distinctive  Brussel sprout scent,which competes in un-popularity with the smell of boiled cabbage and old socks.

Nevertheless, I am an ardent brussel sprout lover, and I am convinced they have been misunderstood, versatile as they are.  Although I am the first to admit that I am photographically challenged when it comes to capturing the je ne sais quoi of brussel sprout slaw on camera:

sprout slaw

Anyway I am convinced that brussel sprouts much maligned as they are, like tofu, can be really delicious, or a sore trial to eat depending on how they were prepared.

Recently while wondering what to serve with a lovely piece of fresh (wild) salmon – goal to please the taste buds and look pretty I started thinking about asian style brussel sprouts. A recipe for brussel sprout slaw got me to try raw brussel sprouts, and the dressing, which for some reason my brain told me had to absolutely be asian fusion and contain sesame oil, was put together using maple syrup (the canadian bit) , sesame oil, Mitsukan vinegar and soy sauce, and was, at risk of flattering myself, decidedly yummy.

Being a spontaneous cook I found myself making this 3 times until I had forced myself to write down the quantities.

Canadian-asian fusion brussel sprout slaw: Here is the recipe:  about 1) 500g Brussels sprouts, slice finely into “slaw” like slices – about 1-2 mm wide. Try to keep your cutting uniform, don’t grate, I tried that but it just makes the brussel sprouts too fine and the grated sprouts then stick together in the dressing which is not nice. 2) Maple Syrup: 2 Tbps,  Soy Sauce reduced sodium: 2 teaspoons (don’t overdo it or it will be too strong), Mitsukan japanese rice vinegar: 2 tablespoons Sesame Oil: 1 tablespoon Lemon Juice freshly squeezed: 1 /2 Tablespoon

Mix dressing ingredients in  a shaker and then mix with the brussel sprouts. Leave salad at room temperature to marinate for about 30 minutes. Add salt to taste at the end.

Two ways I have served: 1) Goes very well with fresh grilled salmon, also goes very well with 2) smoked salmon, if you are feeling in a seventies type mood, you can roll the sprout-slaw inside smoked  salmon pieces and stick a toothpick through it – nice appetiser.

Drink to go with it: probably have to have it with a light beer,  not sure I can think of a wine that will work.

6 thoughts on “Yummy “canadian-asian” fusion brussel sprout slaw: raw shredded sprouts with a maple syrup, japanese rice vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil and fresh lemon dressing

  1. This sounds absolutely delicious, if the salmon was roasted/baked on top of the slaw (for me anyway). Although I love Brussels sprouts I’m really not keen on them raw. But I love the idea of this. Might try something similar next week (if I can find the fish). At the moment I’m not eating meat of any sort. But I’m hoping to cook turkey Christmas day. Hmm, or am I? It may be a nut roast instead 🙂

    • Hi Jonny – I wasn’t sure about raw sprouts either initially but if you let them sit in the marinade for 30 minutes they soften and become “cooked” or at least wilted and aren’t as rough as they are when you first cut them up. Not eating meat of any sort, interesting, I don’t eat meat much either, only ever really cook any when I have guests, nut roast sounds very nice!

  2. Never mind the photo, sounds fabulous anyway. I always love Asian style salads, and most of the time have them with regular cabbage or napa cabbage. Shouldn’t be much different with Brussels sprouts, yeah? Only more nutritional, which is a plus! 🙂

    • very supportive of you THANKS! more nutritional is good I agree, I am currently churning out Christmas cookies so knowing I have sprout slaw in my past makes me feel a bit more virtuous 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

