Celebrate your passions – even if they only make sense to you!

IMG_1605

In the bookshop in Brigit’s garden in Connemara I caught this moment –  immersed in a cookbook all the world around was forgotten. The moment spoke to me of the joy one feels when  am doing something we truly love, that can be anything for me it’s reading cookbooks,  tending chilis, observing insects, blogging, or indeed painting. The excerpt from Jenny Joseph’s poem below speaks to me of following your passion, and every so often, doing as you please!

Quote from Jenny Joseph’s poem Warning:

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple,

With a red hat which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me,

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves,

And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.

I have always had mixed feelings about photographs placed online – this lady was in the background of a photo I took in Brigits garden Galway Ireland – and I was moved to see she is studying a cookbook, and so I thought I’d share the picture here.

8 thoughts on “Celebrate your passions – even if they only make sense to you!

  1. another photo comment here – I have tried to track down the lady on the picture, no luck yet, to ask her permission. I hope that as for me she served as an inspiration she won’t mind being on the blog. Once again photos taken in public places ok to post. Also copyright recommendations on poetry I found recommend only using an excerpt and linking back to the original quote. Unless something was written pre 1923 in which case apparently it is in the public domain. Although don’t quote me on that. It’s just what I found.

  2. Polianthus,
    I love this post!
    I hold that poem in my heart –
    to me it’s about being confident in yourself,
    understanding oneself and having the conviction to be that person,
    happily, harmlessly, with conviction, but gently!
    Emma 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

