If you like pina coladas – and getting caught in the rain – you will love St Agata’s pina colada muffins!

 

IMG_4044Before you start click this link, put on the song and get into the groove: If you like pina coladas

If St Agata had gone to key West, I imagine we might have ended up with these muffins. I made these a while back but as so often between plan to post and actual post there lies the real world, nevertheless, here I am…..you will like these, I did, I loved them, I could eat more of them, but excited by my success I moved on to make double chocolate almost vegan muffins with prunes, yummy, yummy….. Double chocolate vegan muffins with “fruits des bois” some other experiments and from there to my first gym membership in some years……….yes I know…Anyway back to the muffins above – they are wonderful and here is the recipe. I am sure you could make it easier than I have done, but I used to work in a lab and so I like mixing stuff, I give you the recipe as I made it, fiddle at will and at your own peril! But DON’T omit the Malibu :).

Pina colada muffins vegan (makes around 14)

Dry Ingredients

  • 100g ground coconut (you are looking for finely ground unsweetened stuff here)
  • 100g semolina pasta flour the finely milled pale golden stuff, 80 g corn starch, 100g white flour
  • 11/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt (although I often just don’t bother and turns out fine for me)

Wet ingredients

  • 180 ml coconut milk
  • 80g coconut oil warm it to melt before adding  (the stuff that tastes of coconut, not the stuff that doesnt you get all kinds, ask at the health food store)
  • 180 ml agave nectar
  • 60ml pineapple pulp (I used canned pineapple and pureed it (yes I know….) + 60ml canned pineapple juice (ideally unsweetened)
  • 1 tbsp natural vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon Malibu rum (which if you are honest you know you have squirreled away somewhere)

Topping

  • some nice large unsweetened coconut flakes that you toast in frying pan without adding any oil of course
  • glace cherries, because they just look so camp and remind me of small white breasts with a red nipple on top – i.e.of Agatas breasts, a saint if I remember well, and a Sicilian treat made by nuns

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 18o° C and line your muffin pan with little muffin paper thingies……
  2. Topping – toast unsweetened coconut flakes in a frying pan without extra oil to brown and set aside to cool
  3. Soak the dried ground coconut in hot water for about 10 minutes and squeeze excess water out
  4. Mix all dried ingredients and when the coconut is  rehydrated (around 10 minutes), pour away the water, squeeze excess water out of the coconut mass by hand and add it to the dry ingredients
  5. Add all the wet ingredients,  in the order listed,  to the dry ones and mix until batter is smooth
  6. Pour the batter into the prepared cups (about 14)
  7. sprinkle with coconut flakes and expect to make a mess while you are at it
  8. Top with a glace cherry each
  9. Bake until done, and a wooden toothpick stuck in comes out clean (about 25 minutes)

Leave to cool before eating, if you can wait that long!

This is a version of the vegan hazelnut muffins

PS dear EB  – with this camp muffin I salute you on your engagement – it seems a fitting tribute, I thought of you as I made it, and it will have to suffice,   until I can toast you in person!

4 thoughts on “If you like pina coladas – and getting caught in the rain – you will love St Agata’s pina colada muffins!

    • Hi Sophie – really you made them 🙂 OH I am SO excited that someone tried something I developed !!! yippee thanks so much for letting me know – my significant other loves them too 🙂 thanks for sharing!

Please share your thoughts!

