Vegan flavour volcano – beetroot burgers on a bed of zucchini ribbons with black olive basil lemon salsa

IMG_5715

A hankering for summer and sunlight makes me seek out sunny bright flavours and vibrant colours in the kitchen leadiing me to create the combination above: beetroot, coconut and carrot burgers on zucchini ribbons adorned with a black olive, lemon juice and basil salsa  ( similar to a tapenade but without anchovies) on a base of hummus. It was quite nice if I do say so myself, almost more importantly it also looked pretty – if there is fog and cold weather on the outside make sure you have bright lights in the house and bright colours on your plate!  I am bringing these to Angie’s fiesta friday, it’s been a long time since I last joined, but hopefully the door is still open 🙂

Beetroot, coconut and carrot burgers

Ingredients for burgers:

  • 100g grated raw beetroot, 150g grated carrot (use the rougher grater here so you get a variety of textures) , 50g dessicated coconut unsweetened, 1tbs dried breadcrumbs. Mix together.
  • 2 tbps Chia seeds + 5 tbs water – mix and leave to stand until gelled about 5 minutes – mix into the vegetables with your hands
  • 2 tbs breadcrumbs to coat

Take about 1 tbs of vegetable mix and form into a patty, flatten between your palms and then press into breadcrumbs which you placed on a plate

IMG_5708

IMG_5707

IMG_5706

Zucchini ribbons

about 500g zucchini – use vegetable peeler to make ribbons – eat raw

IMG_5713

Black olive Salsa

2 tbs black olives, 1 tbs lemon juice, about 1 handful of basil leaves, grated rind of one lemon, about 1/2 tablespoon olive oil.  Blend until smooth, add more olive oil if needed to achieve paste consistency

IMG_5711

Hummus

In brief canned chickpeas, or I use chickpeas that have been soaked overnight, cook until soft, puree in a blender adding tahini and lemon juice to taste. You can also add garlic (traditional) – blend until smooth – add cold water if needed to achieve paste consistency. Add salt. The best hummus recipe I have ever tried is Ottolenghis – in his Jerusalem cookbook, highly recommend it.

To serve:

Spread hummus on plate, top with zucchini ribbons, dot ribbons with salsa, fry the patties in olive oil until golden and place on top of the zucchini ribbons. Serve. You can also offer horseradish sauce if you like, it goes well with the beetroot.

IMG_5715

25 thoughts on “Vegan flavour volcano – beetroot burgers on a bed of zucchini ribbons with black olive basil lemon salsa

    • Hi Tracey, thanks so much! Happy Fiesta Friday – not sure this fits the categories – although the beet burgers would make nice appetizers by themselves served with a horseradish dip – so if deconstructed it would fit

    • Hello Nancy – yes it has been ages I have been the “neglecta-blogger” – too much other stuff that HAS to get done.. not sure how you all manage it! Thanks for welcoming me back!

    • Hello my dear Rhonda – well generally I just look at what I have in the fridge – an then I like zucchini for the colour but the taste reminds me a little of fish and it’s very bland so to maximise the colour I had to balance the taste which is where olive + lemon and basil came in – the hummus I just love and it’s easy to make so those two were simple, and then I had an old wrinkly beet around and some ready grated carrots so took it from there. The coconut addition to the beet was inspired by a cookbook I wouldnt have thought of that myself I dont think. Probably answered to a much greater level of depth than you were hoping for 🙂 overall the constant exposure to greys and greens and browns on the earth and uniform grey elephant breath (farrow and ball colour) in the sky – makes me want sunlight (yes I know I just got back from grenada)

    • Hi Pinkie bag – what an interesting name – is it because you carry so much stuff around with you that you also have a pinkie bag? crosses my mind because I went shopping today and had a back pack and 2 bags and was thinking that I’d be really glad to have 2 extra arms so I could get more stuff – going shopping on foot and walking to the shops and leaving the car at home is part of my attempt to walk at least 10 000 steps a day – which is REALLY hard – anyhow thanks for stopping by and for your lovely compliment have a great weekend Poli

Please share your thoughts!

