Kitchen utensil must-haves – the Pacojet – anyone got a spare 5000 dollars?

Anyone remember  my rant about my inability to make the perfect pea mousse? Since that day I have made various purees, bought a food mill, I have milled carrot, kiwi and ginger soup (awesome taste, great texture, but not silky smooth alas), I have pureed peas (nice texture, silky smooth? Nope) – I have cast  my mind back to meals eaten in restaurants and remembered a wonderful fennel + star aniseed puree served in Italy (for photos of the restaurant go here) with sashimi (and seaweed) see below And again, I tried to reproduce it, the flavour was good, the texture, just not so much. Below the restaurants rendition (and the link if you ever want to stop by there.

IMG_2964

So when we had dinner at the castle near us recently and a carrot and ginger puree, seduced me with it’s velvet texture, I had had enough. What I wondered out aloud, with no expectation of getting resolution, is it that the chefs have in their kitchens, that I don’t have at home. What is that magic tool the magic ingredient?  I admit I have become a little obsessed by this in weeks past.. I’ll admit I had started thinking about shock freezing and then using sound wave impulses to fragment the cells, aka sonication, sometimes all those years spent in a lab become apparent, but until I earn enough to buy a lab setup to use for cooking, I have to make do without cool stuff (although maybe not, read on).  Anyway, back to the story, our lovely hostess happened to be standing nearby and she must have overheard my lament (as did the guests at the next table who were laughing in empathy as they started to come up with suggestions on the tools I could use. However,   as I explained that I was haunted by perfect texture, but unable to reproduce it – our hostess took it upon herself to put me out of my misery, she confirmed that chefs don’t use food mills to reach texture nirvana, don’t have super-enzymes that break down cell walls (I have put so much thought into this) indeed they don’t predigest the food, no none of the above gentle readers. No, she said, the  chefs secret weapon is the Pacojet (a Swiss made tool – yes I am very proud) – because from what I have learned since hearing its name – the Pacojet is to the world’s chefs what sex-appeal is to James Bond – you cannot imagine the one without the other.  I am bringing a virtual Pacojet to the Fiesta Friday gathering, sadly my blog following is not so large that I can negotiate the company into giving me one to test for home use, but as Fiesta Friday is all virtual, I am bringing it with me, along with different icecream and sorbet bases, and I will show you the wonder of the tool! By the way – the Pacojet is really quite small, if you have an American sized kitchen you can fit one in easy. It makes ice-creams and sorbets, vegetarian and vegan foods, sausage fillings (I’m looking at you Mr Fitz) – oh I just have to have one. But where do I put it?

 

20 thoughts on “Kitchen utensil must-haves – the Pacojet – anyone got a spare 5000 dollars?

    • Maybe less maybe more – you can get the model that processes only frozen foods for 4300 ish 🙂 – 5000 is the one that also does raw food! Yep not in my future at the mo,ent either…

    • it’s only 50 cm high ( it fits under my kitchen cupboards snugly) I have already measured in my minds eye.. 38cm wide and about 42cm deep ish (or 42 wide 38 deep) basically it is not that big – imagine freezing a watermelon – making it into a sorbet putting it into a glass, topping up with vodka – or else some dribbles of tequila, sitting on the balcony and watching the sun go down ( I remember a pic you took on your blog with a margarita glass) – oh how about frozen margaritas – I can imagine so many ways to use this machine – but how can I justify the cost to myself, how?

      • Oooh – I LOVE that idea – a tad more expensive than say just the 5000 – if you have a restaurant with less than 10 tables here you can do it easy without much paperwork, but ROI not high I’ve thought it through, would have to be small restaurant and high turnover – “good healthy and fast food at a price”…low kitchen rental and cleaning fees – I’d love to run one on the side though 🙂 – joint venture?

      • Of course. But you will have to work the customers. We want them to come back…. And then of course we need to close half of the year because travel is important. To go ingredient hunting as we need to stay brilliant.

      • 🙂 – now that sounds much more like a plan – close for half a year to travel and source ingredients – VERY smart, great plan, work the customers, no worries, I love doing that but I am pretty sure you do too :)! I am liking this approach!

      • sadly I doubt it too, it’ s just too much to hope for, however, I have found that there are cooking courses you can take with these machines, so you get to spend an afternoon using one and seeing what you think and if you like it, with focus on onmnivore’s food or vegan veggie food, I would love to rent one for a week to see if it is everything my fevered brain tells me it is, or if it’s just a brain fad!

    • Thanks my dear – sounds better than obsessively hunting down the details 🙂 Hm don’t know – the Pacojet has a knife that shaves the produce into .2Um slices (or something silly like that) and because it’s frozen the bits are uniformly tiny, but I will check out the vitamix blenders!! who knows they might be WONDERFUL!

  1. If your heart is set on a Paco Jet, you may be able to find a reconditioned model at a local restaurant supply. A Vitamix and an old-fashioned fine chinois or tammis may do a lot of the things you want to do. I know some professional chefs who tell their line cooks that the Vitamix is more important than the cooks. If they break it, they should look for a new job.

    • Ah – an expert on kitchen items 🙂 thanks so much for chiming in – I will check out the Vitamix – I have also had a hankering for a thermomix – I guess machines that work like laboratory equipment speak to me as I spent years doing lab
      work..I have decided I will take a cooking course with pacojet to see how the machine works, whether if I experience it for a couple of hours I still believe I really really want one – and then take it from there. I have connections to someone who runs a restaurant and might be able to source one that way, there are also second hand ones on the market, but after churning out 1000s of meals I am not sure I want to shell out 2500 dollars for one, when the new ones are 5000 – it’s a lot either way. However, reconditioned might be the way to go, great idea, thank you, or else the Vitamix, if that is how professional chefs feel about them, they must be pretty good indeed! Appreciate your very helpful comments, thank you very much!

      http://thermomix.vorwerk.co.uk/

Please share your thoughts!

