Fresh Fava beans on Monday

IMG_3035IMG_3038Ā  IMG_3031

We have now covered fava bean soup two-ways – fresh and dried – and as a last offering on the topic of fava beans – because I have some in the kitchen that the Nonna di Giulia sent me in a parcel- I am posting this post. At the end of a nice simple meal down south in Salento during fava bean season – these are are often served in the pod to diners. You grab some pods, you open them, you eat the fava beans raw with some really nice primo sale cheese – tastes a little like really firm ricotta with a bit more flavour but not much. Not creamy but firmish cut. Very nice indeed – served with some semolina flour bread – homemade of course. Recipe at some point in the future.

8 thoughts on “Fresh Fava beans on Monday

    • She is a a very generous and wonderful lady indeed – openhearted, accepting of others, cheerful and hardworking – all good old-fashioned values I find myself challenged to exhibit at times…I find her inspiring..

  1. Simple and delicious recipe. We eat a lot of fava beans at home especially mixed with steamed couscous and a glass of curdled milk on the side or cooked in a spicy sauce and without peeling the fava bean pods. I’m glad I tried the famous crostata della Nona di Giulia šŸ™‚ I’m waiting for the semolina flour bread recipe!

    • Hi Linda – really steamed couscous šŸ˜¦ – I was reading a book by Paula Wolfert the other day – she recommends washing couscous in water for a bit tll it soaks, steaming for 20 minutes, taking off the hob, mixing with water, smen and milk and letting double, then steaming for another 20 minutes, then adding more water in a side pot, breaking up the clumps and steaming again for 20 minutes (with 2 more cycle repeats if you are using hand rolled couscous) – I got stuck in step two. How do you steam your couscous? Do you do it using muslin? If you do – doesn’t it stick?

  2. Paula Wolfert is an expert and a formidable great Lady. Polianthus, in step two, you don’t need to add milk (maybe this recipe is related to a specific region) and you don’t need to use muslin too. You can breaking up the clumps with a fork or with your fingers and steamed two times (20 or 30 or 45 minutes for a better texture) for a better texture but you need a couscoussier. Here my recipe to make steamed couscous.
    http://lapetitepaniere.com/2013/11/10/algerian-lamb-couscous-with-spicy-vegetable-sauce/
    I hope it helps and do not hesitate to ask me more questions.

  3. I love that – Paula Wolfert ist an expert and a formidable great lady šŸ™‚ – have you read her books or is it based on my bad rendition of her recipe? Only asking as I didn’t know her until someone gave me a book but I realise she is very well known. Anyhow her recipe was from Marrokko, maybe that’s why regional – I need a couscoussier – I just had a thought, couldn’t I use my rice cooker and use the steamer piece in the top? Paula Wolfert also say – steam with lid off?
    and if I don’t use muslin – how do I make sure it doesn’t stick to the pan?? I used paper and it stuck to the paper….:( anyhow will read your recommendations and see!

  4. I met Paula Wolfert when I joined a cooking group on Facebook, a few years ago…If you are very interested to make a good couscous Polianthus, you need a couscoussier, a good utensil for your kitchen šŸ™‚ and couscous is always steamed with lid off.t This is a long process to achieve the best couscous, but trust me, it is worth the time!

    • wow – I see!! ok well then I guess that explains it (Paula Wolfert I mean) – couscoussier – ok will check – kitchen is stuffed – at least you confirm it takes the time it takes – thank you!

Please share your thoughts!

