Giant White Bean Salad With “Pickled” Onions (vegan)

2016Giantwhitebeansalad2_Fotor_e

Another day, another salad. Happily I enjoy eating salad, if given the choice, I’d pick fresh vegetables, with a light dressing, or no dressing at all, over processed foods, meats etc. unless I am in a really good restaurant, that knows its meat, or, of course I am being cooked for by a friend who loves to eat and cook. At home we like to keep it simple and this is another salad that fits the bill. Fast if you use canned beans, I prefer to soak them myself, and then use the pressure cooker, but either way the salad is pretty good.

2016Giantwhitebeansalad1_Fotor

Ingredients for 2

Preparation (start the night before) if using dried beans

  • Soak about 1 – 2 cups of jumbo white beans in a large amount of water  overnight (you will have leftovers but I like to make more than I need so I can use them in other recipes)
  • Cook in the pressure cooker (about 45 – minutes till cooked and soft) – drain and cool
  • 1 red onion  – cut into slices and separated – marinate in equal parts water and white wine vinegar with some salt and pepper added (soak for at least 3 hours or as long as you need – overnight works fine too) – it will have a nice pickled taste and a softer texture than usual, DON’T leave out this step, it really makes a big difference to the end product.

When onion and beans are ready prepare:

  • 1 beetroot raw, peeled, halved and sliced into thin slices about 3 mm thick
  • 3-4 celery stalks chopped into 1/2 cm width slices
  • 1 – 2  yellow peppers (depending on size) – wash, devein, slice
  • lettuce leaves from 1 lettuce heart, washed and separated into single leaves

Next:

Mix drained onions with the sliced pepper and about 1 1/2 cup of the cooked white beans, you will have some left over, but you can use them for other recipes). Add some GREAT quality virgin olive oil to the salad , I like Tuscan or Sicilian – for the grassy, green flavours they add (about 1 tablespoon). Add some salt to taste. I don’t add vinegar as the beans and all the ingredients have so much flavour by themselves and the onion is already pickled.

Reserve raw beetroot slices to place individually, if you mix them with the other ingredients, they will leak colour into your salad, which is not aesthetically pleasing.

 

2016Giantwhitebeansalad7_Fotor_eTo serve

Pick some pretty salad bowls, the ones shown here were made by French Pottery designer Jars and are called Plume – I fell in love with them about 2 months ago, and then after fruitlessly trying to forget them, I went back and bought some. The bowls in fact inspired the salad.

Line the bottom of the bowl with lettuce leaves, add the bean, onion and pepper mix – layer on some red beet slices and add more of the salad. Et voila.

  • Healthy
  • Pretty
  • Tasty
  • Colourful

Even people who say they don’t love vegetables would have to love this salad! I served some fresh strawberries and blueberries (not in season, but imported from Spain – and surprisingly very delicious)…with the salad…

 

8 thoughts on “Giant White Bean Salad With “Pickled” Onions (vegan)

    • Thanks so much – beets thinly sliced are very tasty – you can eat the beet greens too, I discovered that not so long ago. It seems if you put your mind to it you can eat pretty much anything. And I love the crunchiness of raw beet and the brightness of the colours..

  1. Love all the ingredients you used. And oh my, the trying to forget pretty stuff part. I do that too, see it, do not buy it, tell every living soul about it and then only hunt them down again and give in and buy the buggers. Typical! Enjoy your pretty bowls, you worked hard for them! 🙆🤓

    • Why hello there – thank you :)! Funny about the bowls – I saw them, then told myself no, then went home and obsessed about them, and hunted them down online, but as they are handmade and glazed I didn’t order….and then walked 1 hour to the sister store of the one I initially spotted them at. The sister store doesn’t stock them..So finally I went back one night by car to store number one, and then spent 30 minutes lining every single bowl up on a counter in so I could pick the four I liked best…..If Mr Polianthus is with me he just picks 4 and says they are all the same..but it’s a dirty lie!! so you are right I worked hard for them…..harder than I work for other things at any rate 🙂

Please share your thoughts!

