Fountain Series # 8 – April: urban fountains – Zürich

Zürich fountain

The more I take notice of fountains, the more I notice design differences from city to city. In Basel the fountains seem to be very similar, lots of troughs, not too many experimental fountains, statues that remind me of communist era statues of workers seen in Moscow or Fernand Leger paintings, not too many whimsical fountains, not playful in general, there is one exception, which I will present later in the year. Having just been to Zürich, I have come across more fun fountains – ranging from the classic fountain showcased above to typical rich city fountains, to the fountain I have named all trousers and no mouth which I will present in the next weeks too. Interesting how the soul of a place is reflected in little details you might not really usually notice.

If would like to join in with the fountain photo challenge then please take a look at my fountain page. No complicated rules, just a fountain and a camera required :)

Fountains for April are those you find in an urban setting – or a village – or a couple of houses – whatevery takes your fountain fancy!

  • Create your own post and title it Fountain series April
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘fountain series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Friday of each month

To make it easier to find everyone’s posts, perhaps you could add the TagFountain Series‘.


You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

We have already had some wonderful fountain shares from around the world.  For the April fountain challenge – fountains in urban settings we have a submission from Geriatrix, who have just joined the challenge, and who share some wonderful fountains from Spain, Aletta, at Nowathome, who has been sharing fountains  since the beginning of the challenge, shares a beautiful fountain from South Africa, situated in an historic building, the Castle of Good Hope. I think this is my favourite of the week. Her photos as well as other SA submissions make me want to fly down to visit South Africa one day – sun, gardens, amazing food and great wine, make for a prime holiday destination. Traveller Kaz shares a fountain in a sleepy square in Geneva, Switzerland, in summertime. I can imagine sitting in a cafe enjoying a warm August afternoon listening to the fountain singing.

Please do join us on our visit to fountains around the world. Thanks all for joining in! I look forward to more contributions in the coming months! Poli

18 thoughts on “Fountain Series # 8 – April: urban fountains – Zürich

    • Its on my list of things to do – bucket list – and ive got so many flight miles saved up i might even make it there in style :)!!! Ps of course i mention your blog, there is a fountain it, and a very nice one at that, even without wine bottles being chilled in it!

    • Hi Kaz – thank you very much – another travel fountain eh? I remember taking photos in Rome and Siena year ago all non-digital of course, but can I find them? No…

      • hope springs eternal 🙂 – I have fountains from China and fountains from Argentina but for the life of me I am unable to find any of the photos, back in the day everything was negative based that was easier, anything digital I just seem to lose.. ah well it’s a form of feng shui I guess and living in the moment all rolled into one..

Please share your thoughts!

