Fountain Series # 9 – April: urban fountains – marble fountain in Zürich

Zürich Fountain 1 C

This fountain, one I came across, while perambulating Zurich, has a bench set right behind it, inviting you to take a seat, see below, and to listen to the birds singing in the weeping willow, the water burbling in the brook beyond that wall and to delight in the moment. Maybe I should have had a bench and photo challenge? Anyhow – my friend, who was with me that day, mommy to two small kids, exclaimed ” how perfect this would be in the summer, just imagine how the kids would love it…” this fountain is one that can be many things to many people.

Fountain Zurich 2 C

Different to anything I’d find in Basel, again, an expression of Zurich’s personality. The magnolias are in bloom and at the moment it’s just delightful to be outside.

Wishing you all a wonderful weekend.

If would like to join in with the fountain photo challenge then please take a look at my fountain page. No complicated rules, just a fountain and a camera required :)

And here a close-up – with Zurich bankers in the background and the ubiquitous tablets and cell-phones integrated into the cityscape.

Fountain Zürich 3

Fountains for April are those you find in an urban setting – or a village – or a couple of houses – whatevery takes your fountain fancy!

  • Create your own post and title it Fountain series April
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘fountain series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Friday of each month

To make it easier to find everyone’s posts, perhaps you could add the TagFountain Series‘.


You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

We have already had some wonderful fountain shares from around the world.  For the April fountain challenge – fountains in urban settings we have a submission from Geriatrix,

Aletta, at Nowathome, again at a vineyard (she does have a good life, and yeas I am a bit envious,  and each photo shared, makes me more convinced I need to go to SA),  shares photos of an idyllic fountain, taken in Constantia, the oldest wine producing region in South Africa dating back to 1685, not as I might have guessed, somewhere in Greece. Jude, takes us round the world away from South Africa  to, for me, near-by Paris, with beautiful and useful fountains representing in one case the Caryatides – Jude educates me, so I don’t need to google them: kindness, simplicity, sobriety and charity – I think beyond the beauty of the fountains, we could all do with more of the listed virtues in our lives. William Morris apparently once said ” have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or feel to be beautiful..” he was so right, I still have a long way to go.. Jude also shared the playful  “danger you will get wet” fountain in Geneva – I like the idea of this, it lets you be a child again, while pretending to be an adult ” Oh I got wet, I had NO idea that I was going to be sprinkled…”  Kaz follows on from this theme with a fountain in Mexico – remember running through the lawn sprinklers in the summer?  This fountain invites you to do just that again, and it’s in Mexico, so you’d probably be tempted to run right in (and you’d be dry in no time..). TGeriatrix takes us to Italy – Genoa to be exact, sharing a very impressive water feature at the center of a square. All this weeks fountains seem to be from the late 1800 early 1900s. Now a more modern take – larger than life, technicolour – a lights, camera, action type fountain contributed by a new-fountain-comer – this and that from Shandong Province in China – our first Chinese fountain. And TGeriatrix – obviously perusing old fountain photos, submitted some more on the theme of last months challenge topic: gardens, they are lovely, so I am sharing them here as well.

I hope I haven’t missed any – I am juggling too many balls in the air at the moment so I might have missed a photo you submitted, if I did, it was unintentional. Thanks for continuing to share your photos with us. I love the fact that everyone is sharing the history of the fountains and their locations, it’s like having my own little surprise-around-the-world- travelorama.

Please do join us on our visit to fountains around the world. Thanks all for joining in! I look forward to more contributions in the coming months! Poli

17 thoughts on “Fountain Series # 9 – April: urban fountains – marble fountain in Zürich

    • wow you put me to shame – you and TGeriatrix are ready to post on Friday and here I am hectically trying to get it all sorted :)! Cant wait to go and see what you found for today (or is it the one I just discovered) I guess I will find out in a tick…

      • One you have discovered already! No worries in the timing, just that I will probably forget if I don’t publish today!
        And this is a lovely one – I can just see toddlers paddling in this in the summer whilst parents sit on the benches.

      • Great – I linked to it in the post too, so it’s all ready for prime time :)! I can see toddlers playing in this too and parents chatting and relaxing in the shade.

  1. Hi P. Thank you for the mention of my sister. We have received the most devastating news this week. Hear dearest and only grandson of 8 was in a car crash and did not make it. Have no words. She is on her way to her son in New Zealand. Life just will not be the same again for her and our small family and I just thought you would want to know. I know you will think of her. X

Please share your thoughts!

