Fountain challenge # 14 May – the fountain of Small Green Humans – Lights, action and “video”,

Maegth

Tada – I give you the ultimate fountain for the May challenge: humans and animals on or in fountains? How about, small humanoid, weeping, green men?  I loved this fountain, it’s brightly coloured, larger than life, and very musical. The figures reminded me of the blue sheep in the garden (blue sheep).  Time flies – I have been doing some wonderful stuff in the past weeks, visiting botanical gardens in Italy and the UK, visiting art exhibitions, and photo exhibitions, eating Dim Sum in London’s Chinatown, and even going to the theatre. I have also seen many, many fountains. The only reason I mention everything else is because I have been remiss in sharing any food photos, or recipes lately. Not that I expect there is great desperation in the world because one blogger is not posting food information, it’s not as if there is a shortage out there, it’s more that food pictures and others add colour, while the fountains are often stone and iron and therefore quite monochromatic. But not today. While photographing fountains with my trusty iPhone (I the only person who put her Nikon in the cupboard years ago because it’s so heavy to schlepp around, and now just uses the less artistic but more practical iPhone to capture iMAGES?) I thought “the best thing about a fountain is the sound it makes” – and that is true, there is nothing quite a soothing as listening to a fountain, unless you are sitting near a burbling brook, with little Bo Peep and her sheep, or lying in bed under the rafters listening to raindrops on your roof. Anyhow, I had this thought a while back and so now when I see fountain I take a video. Admittedly they are a bit wonky, other than that, listen to the soothing music of water. I give you the Green Man Fountain at the Maeght foundation in St Paul de Vence. I mentioned that it is worth visiting the foundation if you are ever in the area. My perfect holiday, is botanical gardens, good food, art galleries, good books and long walks, and good food. I’m not sure what I will do when I retire, it seems I am listing all the favourite activities of the retiree? No matter.

Also the musical Miro fountain (with the sound of a plane for added fun).

 

 

Sadly June is just around the corner, half a year has gone, where did it go? So next week the theme changes: the theme for June is unusual details on fountains, unusual fountains. I think we have all seen lots of those, I look forward to your selections!

Create your own post and title it Fountain series June

Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
Add the tag ‘fountain series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new fountain theme comes out on the first Friday of each month
You don’t have to post on a Friday. Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

We have already had some wonderful fountain shares from around the world. I will update this post later on in the next days to showcase all last weeks submissions, bear with me!

Please join us as we share fountains from around the world!

16 thoughts on “Fountain challenge # 14 May – the fountain of Small Green Humans – Lights, action and “video”,

    • Well retirees pick stuff to do that means they can do it with a zimmer frame…good news is, if I ever get to that point, I will still have loads of stuff I can do that i enjoy 🙂

      • Ha I can do that when I retire eh? Dubai, hm, not that I can remember, I spent a week there with work in 2008, remember the herb and spice market (surprise surprise) and the boats, and the gold flakes on the food, and the fact that every time I asked one of the Indians working there about his working life I got depressed….and going out on the sand dunes, but dancing fountains, not that I recall, and I have not idea where the photos got to…

Please share your thoughts!

