Fountain challenge # 16 – June – unusual details on fountains, unusual fountains

Polianthus Fondation Maeght Fountain

Friday, Friday, fountain Friday, and it’s almost noon. And here is this weeks fountain. Arkenaten’s comment last week “I am all out of fountains”, is one I can easily relate to, however, thankfully, the  Fondation Maeght, St Paul de Vence, Riviera, is a fountain wonderland, so I still have one up my sleeve. I feel a bit as though it’s cheating to showcase a mosaic basin, and a teensy fountain (which is more like a waterfall) where the main attraction is a sculpture in the fountain, then again, I guess it does fulfil criteria, so I am submitting it for this week.  If you, like me, love Miro’s Moonbirds (the name alone is wonderful) then watch the video of the fountain and see the Moonbird.

Off to one of my favourite cities, Barcelona, in 2 weeks, and I cannot wait to recapture a truly special fountain at the Miro museum while I am there. Naturally, I have photographs of this fountain already, probably taken with a proper camera (Nikon) but every time I get a new computer I seem to mislay the non-work-related  data on them, which is a shame…Then again I just discovered I paid some taxes twice, not sure which is worse…..

Last week we again had some great submissions – well-travelled Chava submitted a fountain reminiscent of a Serra sculpture, standing on end in a fountain,  from LA. Aletta at Nowathome shares a lovely photo of a little boy running through a fountain – Cornwall Park; Hastings. TGeriatrix takes us East and West to BernKasel via the Czech republic, with a fountain representing eternal life, eternal power and eternal cycles. Jude, like me, is often in gardens, she shares another beautifully photographed fountain in the Alcazar Garden, Balboa Park, San Diego California (Jude! How did I miss this garden when I was in San Diego… must go again).

Please join us as we share fountains from around the world! If you are at all interested in botanical gardens, historical villages, art, sculpture or history, then you will find something to interest you in the fountains submitted every week. It’s a real education.

The theme for June is: unusual details on fountains, unusual fountains. I think we have all seen lots of those, I look forward to your selections!

Create your own post and title it Fountain series June. Check out the rules here. I cannot wait to see what you have for me!

  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘fountain series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new fountain theme comes out on the first Friday of each month. You can of course also submit weekly!
  • You don’t have to post on a Friday. Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

We have already had some wonderful fountain shares.

Please join us as we share fountains from around the world!

9 thoughts on “Fountain challenge # 16 – June – unusual details on fountains, unusual fountains

  1. Well, as it happens, I found photographs of a couple more.
    That says more about what I do with my free time than might be considered healthy!
    🙂
    I’l post a bit later.

Please share your thoughts!

