Fountain Challenge July # 19 Calder Mercury Fountain

Calder 1

Right. To clarify. I do know that the challenge theme for  this month is stone fountains. And the fountain above, in some ways, does meet criteria, the base is stone. But, what makes this fountain unique, is the mercury. A beautiful, dangerous, poisonous and creative piece of art. Putting a Polianthus copyright below a work of genius like this felt very, very wrong. However, I did take the photo. So I just went ahead. Looking at the copyright, it still feels wrong…..I first saw this fountain by Calder in 2010 in Barcelona, and then I misplaced the photos, however, it is unforgettable. Things that fascinate, are apparently indelible in my mind, photos just serve to retrieve the memories. There are few things that truly fascinate me, sadly.

The fountain originally also featured jets of mercury. See picture of Calder below, before the fact that mercury isn’t particularly healthy was known. This is one of those health facts that has been proven and remains constant (unlike dietary recommendations say).

Calder 2

Calder designed the mercury fountain for the 1937 World Fair which was held in Paris. According to the text at the Foundation Joan Miro – the fountain “represents a step forward in the search for movement in sculpture”. Calder paid tribute  to the Spanish town of Almaden where at the time 60% of the world’s mercury was mined. Calder , a close friend of Miros, donated the fountain to the Joan Miro foundation in 1975.

If you watch the video you can see how the mercury flows, this seems the wrong term, too. My linguistic abilities are severely challenged by this sculpture fountain.

Now finally I am also acknowledging the past two weeks submissions. It’s taken a while. Despite Jude’s teasing me, about how tough my life can be, if I am gallivanting around Barcelona drinking sangria , eating tapas and visiting the sights and buying lots of jewellery (they have amazing jewellery in Barcelona, it’s creative, and unusual, you won’t find it anywhere else). It has been an intense couple of weeks work-wise. It seems, everyone else who is into fountains, art and museums, and who shares their insights with us on the fountain challenge, is enjoying their golden retirement years…..Good for you, I say. So here are last two weeks fountain shares:

Tgeriatrix shares an odd fountain – there are some very strange fountains out there – once you start looking – I will call it “the large pair of lips and the chestnut“, whatever you are thinking, it’s all you, but go have a look……Chava shares the “multicoloured dazzling disco fountain” from New York,  Jude, who appears to love botanical gardens as much as I do, but seems to have visited more, shares a fountain of peace situated at Sezincote, Tgeriatrix also shared a giant millwheel, I cannot see the fountain, but I’ll take their word for it 🙂, Arkanaten, sadly has run out of fountains, what a shame, however Aletta, at Nowathome, is a loyal fountain photographer, and like me, and probably like Jude, she has a weakness for garden centers….and cream teas? Perhaps?

My FAVOURITE fountain for June has got to be Kaz’s “steel fish with “founting” water”, what a wonderful imagination, 5 steel fish, swimming in a 4800 sqm fountain, imagine how big that is!; by artist Brian Robinson.

The theme for July,  is: stone fountains, or fountains made of special materials. I look forward to your selections!

Create your own post and title it Fountain series July. Check out the rules here. I cannot wait to see what you have for me!

  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘fountain series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new fountain theme comes out on the first Friday of each month. You can of course also submit weekly!
  • You don’t have to post on a Friday. Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

We have already had some wonderful fountain shares.

Please join us as we share fountains from around the world!

26 thoughts on “Fountain Challenge July # 19 Calder Mercury Fountain

  1. The fountain is down below where my friend is looking. And wheel was used to get the water up in a bucket. This kind of fountains were used in old times when you didn’t have water in your house. No mill involved here!😉

    • Why hello – thank you – I don’t think I’ve seen one of those before, sounds a bit like a well? Fascinating all these new and wondrous things. Interesting to see how much the world has changed in a short few 100 or so years eh? Happy weekend Poli

    • Hello Aletta – garden centers, creamy tea what’s not to love! Thank you for your lovely compliment, what a kind thing to say. I am tempted to qualify but I am forcing myself not to! Thank you for submitting this week: vineyard? Garden center? Art museum, only a click of the mouse will tell!

    • Yes I think it’s in a class of it’s own, unless someone comes up with a liquid nitrogen fountain, or liquid iron ore, but normal is generally very good isn’t it. I am guessing it’s another garden location fountain? will check out asap!

    • Hello Rhonda – love you reading my posts, thanks! No gallivanting at the moment, have spent the past days clearing up my pots on the balcony, minimising the amount of pots, so my guests can actually sit there. The problem with having an expansive personality is that everything expands with my interests, from my waistline to the plants I have, to the spices I buy – as with everything there is always a plus and a minus to it! However, I am very happy with my new balcony (a guest on Monday suggested I do some clearing) – I have now also got a nice little foldy table for drinks and nibbles – and the whole thing is looking very nice. Now just need to sew the cushions for the furniture (and no I have not much experience in this sadly..) Happy you though it was an interesting post! BTW are you still teaching? If you are there is a fREE webinar on the use of infographics in the classroom hosted by easel.y see information below (contact latasha@easel.y) for more info

      all the best Poli

      Hello!

      We have good news: we are going to be hosting Easel.ly’s first ever webinar Wednesday, July 13 from 10-11am PST (1-2pm EST). This will be the launch of our new webinar series, and we’ll kick it all off with a discussion on infographics in the classroom. Hello!

      We have good news: we are going to be hosting Easel.ly’s first ever webinar Wednesday, July 13 from 10-11am PST (1-2pm EST). This will be the launch of our new webinar series, and we’ll kick it all off with a discussion on infographics in the classroom. See mail below: Hello!

      We have good news: we are going to be hosting Easel.ly’s first ever webinar Wednesday, July 13 from 10-11am PST (1-2pm EST). This will be the launch of our new webinar series, and we’ll kick it all off with a discussion on infographics in the classroom.

Please share your thoughts!

