Fountain Challenge #24: Artistic fountainscape in Barcelona – and child at play


IMG_4571_Fotor

I am now at the stage in the fountain challenge where I have many more photos of fountains than I can ever hope to post. Do I submit more than one a week, I wonder? Ah the dilemma. No matter. It’s a better situation than the alternative, that would be a lot worse. The above fountain is more a fountain waterscape in Barcelona. There are many fountains, water towers (I guess) and a dragon (that is his tail you see above right coming into the photo). You can climb up the inside of the dragon and then take a slide down. As it is made of metal though it is scorching hot in the sun , and therefore painful for uncovered skin. Also the slide is quite steep and you land on concrete..not for me I decided. In fact one little boy I watched sat and wavered for a long time before deciding against taking the plunge. What I love about this waterscape is the way it has been built to be enjoyed. It is fun to watch too. A little like in a naive art painting, everywhere you look you see things happening, from dogs swimming to little boys playing to people just relaxing in the hot sun. The little boy below made me smile and it is an artistic fountain of sorts and so this is my fountain for the week!

IMG_4575_Fotor

IMG_4576_Fotor IMG_4577_Fotor IMG_4578_Fotor IMG_4579_Fotor

IMG_4580_Fotor

Can you spot the swimming dog (you can just about see its head).
IMG_4581_Fotor

How about the big dog cooling off close to the shore in the shot below?IMG_4582_Fotor

Submissions for last week include a great many interesting ones from around the world again – Chava submits a fountain from Ecuador; Jude submits one from Geneva along with tips for garden lovers, recommend you check that one out on her site,  TGeriatrix does find very interesting fountains, here is one with anchors, and sadly for last week that seems to be that.

Guidelines:

I shall post a fountain each Friday within a particular theme which will change each month. You are invited to join in by posting one or more of your own fountains within the month that fit into the theme and either add a link (ping-back) in your post to mine or link to it in a comment on my post.

To make it easier to find everyone’s posts, perhaps you could add the TagFountain Series‘.

You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you. While I’ve never run a challenge,  I am following Jude’s capable lead and letting myself be inspired by her categories,  so I am feeling hopeful that this will work out:).

Themes

  • August: Artistic fountains  – could be colour, could be anything that catches your fancy

I look forward to seeing where your fountains take me….

26 thoughts on “Fountain Challenge #24: Artistic fountainscape in Barcelona – and child at play

    • Dear Sreejith thanks very much, the place was very interesting. Amazing what you can do with an iphone if you just keep pressing the button, I used to to use the hispeed function on my Nikon, crisper shots, but iPhones do pretty well amazingly – happy weekend!

  1. Just posted a fountain with simple style but to me looks like a flower pot. Having trouble posting link. So please check it out by going to my blog.

  2. I was waiting to see a photo of the boy jumping into the water Poli!! I know how hot Barcelona can be in the summer! Are you home from London?? Off to Greece?? Happy fountain hunting… xo

    • It was indeed very hot, but the little boy was all control :)! Back at home, working, another 10 days and then off to Greece. Oh yes fountain hunting indeed, that reminds me I need one for tomorrow and I know just where to find it!!! HOpe you are well! Poli

      • Actually yes – there is a fountain pretty much at every corner, small ones, large ones, historical ones, it’s a Swiss thing perhaps, and all of them are drinking fountains. The hare though is located at an art museum so he doesn’t really count I don’t think..I’m home working, travels ahead in a week – lots of work to do till then and then off to Greece – cannot wait, will be wonderful!

Please share your thoughts!

