Fountain Challenge # 44 – Trafalgar Square

seasons-greetings-4

It’s the end of another year, but not the end of the fountain challenge, which will run through to the end of January 2017! I hope you have all had an acceptable 2016, ideally a good one, and in the best case even a fantastic, fabulous and unparalleled year. I truly hope so. I have had a great year, I’d love to have posted more, post subjects I have in my head (in no particular order”  that haven’t made it onto my blog yet:

  • What Masterchef does to you
  • Shirataki “ants climbing a tree” noodles
  • Ligurian Landscapes
  • Polenta and Raisin Cake
  • sourdough chestnut and pale ale bread
  • sourdough the highs and lows
  • comparative cakeology -photographs of cakes in Italy, France, Switzerland, Germany, UK and US. The differences are amazing.
  • Making your own pop cakes and decorating them with gold, bronze and pink pearl powders (because I have nothing, really, nothing else to do.My opinionated view of people who post “making your own pop-cakes recipes and then use cake-mix…but get 5 star ratings anyway…”
  • The joys of living across the border from France, my-style bouillabaisse + roux

However, I have only just managed to put up the fountain posts, really, only just. At the top you can see one of the last fountains for the year. Trafalgar square, at night.

Below, don’t say I am not pushing the boat out today, an additional Christmas themed fountain from a hotel lobby in Germany, good conference hotel, not much else going for it:

img_6946

And lastly Rudolph the read-nose reindeer:

img_6951

cannot detract from the hotel’s absent charm. But the staff were very friendly, and hey, that counts for a lot in my book…

Fountains from last week, a photo from Chava  from LA – it looks to be in a space that is open to the outdoors to me, however, I perhaps should not attempt to interpret Chava’s fountain locations anymore, as I have a track record for errors…From Jude – we have another rude shot of a man blowing a raspberry, Jude says, he is creating wind, I am not so sure, looks like a prolapse of something or other to me, but I have a professional handicap on this one. If you need some peace and quiet (if for example you thought making pop cakes, covering them in ganache, waiting for them to cool and the painting gold dust on them, when cool, was a good idea, last night, despite travelling to Italy today and not having packed…) then have a look at Aletta’s fountain – it will calm you right down. Deep breaths. Om.  TGeriatrix goes alpine on us with a wooden trough fountain.  And Kaz has a three in one photo with the omnipresent Archibald fountain in the background, lovely shot, makes me want to sit down and relax, but I think I’ve forgotten how to. Jude asked me last week if I ever just relax and put my feet up, it made me think…………I am still thinking.

So there we have it the last fountain before Christmas.

This month’s theme is whatever fountains. Next month’s theme: defunct fountains.

Guidelines:

I shall post a fountain each Friday within a particular theme which will change each month. You are invited to join in by posting one or more of your own fountains within the month that fit into the theme and either add a link (ping-back) in your post to mine or link to it in a comment on my post.

To make it easier to find everyone’s posts, perhaps you could add the TagFountain Series‘.

You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

Themes:

  • December: Whatever you would like
  • January: old fountains, defunct fountains, repurposed fountains or fountains asleep under a blanket of snow

If you select Fountain Challenge from the Photo Challenge Menu (on the left) you will be able to look through all my photos

I look forward to seeing where your fountains take me….

 

13 thoughts on “Fountain Challenge # 44 – Trafalgar Square

  1. I didn’t have a fountain for you last week, but I shall make up for it with an “extravaganza” fountain this week! I know what you mean about conference hotels, usually quite bland, but your fountain looks very cheery. I hope you had a lovely Christmas time Poli, doing whatever it is you do – maybe even relaxing??? 😀 😀

    I’ll wait until your last December fountain is up before posting mine so hopefully I shall see you soon…

Please share your thoughts!

