Fountain Challenge 46 – defunct January fountains

fountain-1It’s a New Year – the gyms are brimming over with hopeful new “resolutioners”, the weather has finally dropped below zero degrees celsius – 8°C this morning to be exact, it was absolutely beautiful, and if that were not enough, there is a dusting of snow on everything and the sun is shining brightly in a beautiful blue sky. There are days where I am happy to be alive and this was one of them. Last year’s fountain challenge started late, in Feb to be precise, so fittingly it runs until the end of January 2017. Though I realise that many contributors may not have taken note, so I look forward to seeing if anyone else submits a fountain. This month’s theme? Fountains taking a break, fountains on ice.

Above  a fountain I saw this morning on my morning “work-drop-off run”.

And here it is again from another angle. I am posting late, it’s almost the 7th Jan, but that is because I, like Nigella Lawson among others, celebrate Epiphany and other events on the 6th of January, so I have been out and about taking care of that.

My apologies.

fountain-2

The last fountains of 2016? Well TGeriatrix said it with sheep, what a wonderful playful fountain, it’s like the Pied Piper of Hamelin, only with Hammeln instead, funny eh? (hammel: Sheep, instead of Hamel: the city). Nowathome celebrates Peace and Harmony with a fountain with ducks and I am sure there was Jude fountain somewhere, but where did it go? Oh Jude’s last fountain, a stunning one: the magic fountain in Barcelona, what a sight, what a sight, you should all go have a lot at her fountain pictures, they are amazing. Also if you watched Doc Martin and are missing Cornwall then visit Jude’s other site under a Cornish sky, (she also has a third..)  I wonder Jude, does your day have more hours than mine or are you just so well organised?!

No Chava fountain either I think. If I missed you guys, I am sorry! Kaz?

This months theme?

Guidelines:

I shall post a fountain each Friday. You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. For the last month of the challenge:

  • January: old fountains, defunct fountains, repurposed fountains or fountains asleep under a blanket of snow

If you select Fountain Challenge from the Photo Challenge Menu (on the left) you will be able to look through all my photos

I look forward to seeing where your fountains take me….

8 thoughts on “Fountain Challenge 46 – defunct January fountains

  1. My last fountain was the Magic one in Barcelona – now how could you forget that one? I don’t think I have any unused or defunct ones for this month, but if I come across any I’ll let you know. I have thoroughly enjoyed the fountain challenge Poli and getting to know you. Take care and have fun in 2017, whatever you get up to 😀

    • Hi Jude – hm – I forgot one – I will rectify that immediately :)! see if you find a defunct one and if not all the best for 2017 and our paths may yet cross again. All the best and thanks for all the inspiration Poli

Please share your thoughts!

