Fountain Series # 6 – April: urban fountains – the raven and the battle charger

Raven Fountain Aeschenplatz Basel

This month we are looking for urban fountains, fountains in a city, town type setting. Or a village, if that is where you are lucky enough to be :). I have discovered that as I seek out fountains I become much more attuned to my environment, I discovered this fountain in the middle of town, next to a tram stop I have taken frequently over the past years, yet, if someone had showed me a photo, I couldn’t swear that I would have been able to say where the fountain is located. So much for mindful living in the moment.

Horse raven fountain

My mother recently sent me a quote by Jonathan Swift- most people do not live in the present, but spend their present preparing to live in the future.. so true.. With that quote I’d love to invite you to join me in the challenge, send me an urban fountain!

IMG_1986_Fotor


Raven detail 1


urban fountain Basel

Aeschengraben Basel_Fotor

If would like to join in with the fountain photo challenge then please take a look at my fountain page. No complicated rules, just a fountain and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Fountain series April
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘fountain series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Friday of each month

To make it easier to find everyone’s posts, perhaps you could add the TagFountain Series‘.


You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you.

We have already had some wonderful fountain shares from around the world.  For the last week of the March fountain challenge – fountains in gardens and nature we had submissions from Kaz –who shares a fountain from the Sydney botanical gardens, it’s my favourite shot of this last week, and I love the lotus flower seed heads, Nowathome has shared a fountain that makes me think of Alice in Wonderland – it’s as if one of the Queen’s chess pieces was turned to stone and placed inside a fountain – for all eternity his only companions a couple of golden koi. Lumar hasn’t joined us yet, but she is digging through her old photo files and has promised to share images if she happens upon any. Let’s keep our fingers crossed!

Please do join us on our visit to fountains around the world. Thanks all for joining in! I look forward to more contributions in the coming months! Poli

7 thoughts on “Fountain Series # 6 – April: urban fountains – the raven and the battle charger

    • Hi Karen – mine is actually pretty tiny too, sadly I can also relate to the preparing for the future next whatever, and planning on how best to get there…hm sad eh? Happy last few minutes of Sunday

Please share your thoughts!

