Fountain Challenge #25: The hare without the tortoise




Rabbit fountain Beyeler

Racking my brains for this weeks fountain, I had a sudden inspiration, remembering this fountain, located on the grounds of a nearby museum.  The fountain can only be viewed from the back, and so I always imagined it to be an animal version of the famous Belgian fountain. But no. You can get a glimpse of the fountain from the inside the museum, but  not from the grounds (the hare is in the area where art works is delivered). That said, I could hardly post a photo of a sculpture and claim it’s a fountain, you might not believe me, right? So I risked everything (mainly my iPhone) held it through the bars of the gates, and took a picture, establishing that the water doesn’t spout, as I had expected, from the hare’s nether regions. Also discovering that the hare doesn’t look at all like I imagined it would. I invite you to imagine what you’d expect it to look like from the front.  I suspect you will be surprised. It looks more like a macho rabbit from behind, really, with the squat figure, the fat bottom and short ears. However, from the front, it looks very different. Still a hare/rabbit but with an expression on its face that I wasn’t expecting. Just so you have time to have a think, I’ve inserted information on the sculpture:

Hare

 

And now from the front!

hare 1

Enlarged by iPhone, not the sharpest image, but sufficient for the purpose of the blog. Oh and you can see the water is spouting from his mouth….

Hare 3

So was this what you were expecting? It’s such a strong-looking hare from the back and from the front he looks almost demonic and more than a little miserable.  A little like a high-powered business-man off to work in his suit, strong shoulders, muscular back-side ready to take on the world, you think, enviously,  as he passes you on the street. But then  he turns round and you see he has thinning hair, small blue eyes and a pinched face and nervous expression and is a lot less substantial than you expected him to be, the worries of the world weighing on his mind.  To me it’s almost like looking at two totally different statues. Also he is so taut from the back and so much more like the Michelin man from the front….

Bench near the fountain…

Bench near rabbit fountain

Pingback to an older Sunday photo post, taken at the same museum site: 

IMG_4010

So what submissions has the last week brought me? Jude, well-travelled Jude, shares a Venus fountain from Prague’s Wallenstein Garden (another garden I haven’t visited myself yet). Aletta shares girl on a fountain from a garden center in South Africa and the 3Rs shared a fountain from Savannah, which sounds a lot like a cocktail: titled the Savannah Splash!  Chava shares a fountain from the Australia, to prove to Jude and I that there are fountains over there, although KAZ has taught us that already (as has google). The figure on the fountain looks like Mercury but I’m not sure? Oh and TGeriatrix shares the star of this month to date, as far as I am concerned: a riot of colours and shapely ladies, a voluptuous fountain by Nikki de St Phalle ( I will need to dig out the photo I have of the fountain in Paris which Nikki de St Phalle did with her lover Tinguely – a Swiss-French marriage of arts) – where did it get to, I wonder..)

Seems like everyone else has run out of fountains!!!! If you have one hidden away in your digital archives do feel free to send through, I’d love to see it.

In case you want to join, here are the “rules” (very flexible):

 

Guidelines:

I shall post a fountain each Friday within a particular theme which will change each month. You are invited to join in by posting one or more of your own fountains within the month that fit into the theme and either add a link (ping-back) in your post to mine or link to it in a comment on my post.

To make it easier to find everyone’s posts, perhaps you could add the TagFountain Series‘.

You don’t have to post on a Friday.  Any day in the month will do. If you have loads of pictures that fit into a theme, feel free to post several times during the month or create a gallery or whatever works best for you. While I’ve never run a challenge,  I am following Jude’s capable lead and letting myself be inspired by her categories,  so I am feeling hopeful that this will work out:).

Themes

  • August: Artistic fountains  – could be colour, could be anything that catches your fancy

I look forward to seeing where your fountains take me….

18 thoughts on “Fountain Challenge #25: The hare without the tortoise

Please share your thoughts!

